Events are open to all members and we invite the public to attend up to three Generative Dialogue sessions.

 

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Generative Dialogue on Peacebuilding

March 10 @ 4:00 pm 5:30 pm GMT

Led by Mino Akhtar and Maja Nenadovic

FOSTERING SELF-AWARENESS AND ‘OTHER’ AWARENESS

Key hallmarks of conflict are extreme reactions and demonization of ‘the other’. What group psychology and phenomena lead us down this path? When did disagreement become so violent? Does social media amplify the rage? In this session, we invite you to join us in exploring how we can build self-awareness, in ourselves and others. How do we increase the capacity in people to recognize their own triggers and not to descend into extreme reaction? At a time when social interaction remains difficult (due to the pandemic) and polarization in society disincentivizes contact with those we disagree with – how do we bridge these gaps? How do we find empathy, understanding, and foster ‘other’ awareness, appreciation, and inclusion?

“[For constructive conflict,] we have to
resist the neurobiological drive which
means that we really prefer people
mostly like ourselves.”

Margaret Heffernan

We hope you can join us Thursday March 10th! 

Start time
4pm London, 8am Los Angeles, 11am New York, 5pm Paris, 11pm Beijing
(For 90 minutes)

Next sessions planned on April 07, 2022 and May 12, 2022 (same time)

Please note that these sessions are recorded and will be shared with the participants, published within the Academy Members’ Library and may be referenced to by the hosts (Mino Akhtar and Maja Nenadovic) in their work.

Please complete the form below to register

    About the Generative Dialogue Series on Peacebuilding

    This series aims to create a learning community for peacebuilders around the globe, as we explore together and amplify our own efforts on the ground. Peacebuilding is essential in everyday lives where conflicts emerge, and transform through our interactions and way of being.

    ‘Peacebuilding’ comes to mind as a concept most often associated with war and post-conflict reconciliation efforts. Many members of the Academy of Professional Dialogue work in (post-) conflict contexts, using Dialogue to bridge polarization. Dialogue is used as a space for listening to diverse perspectives and creating a shared understanding of our past, present, and future. Dialogue can help bridge the divides between different ideologies, viewpoints, perspectives, politics.

    The sessions in 2022 will take place on monthly basis, every 2nd Thursday of the month, lasting 90 minutes, always at the same time: 11AM-12:30PM EST, 4-5:30PM GMT, 5-6:30PM CET. Academy members and guests are welcome to join!

    For more information about the series or individual sessions, contact facilitators Mino Akhtar and Maja Nenadovic

    Scroll to Top
    Select your currency